Friday 12th, July 2024
canara news

Quintuple Jubilee Celebrations held at Most Holy Redeemer Church, Derebail

Published On : 28 Apr 2019   |  Reported By : Ashish Joseph Carvalho

On the 27th of April, 2019 at Derebail Church Ground Rev Fr Austin Peter Peres, Parish Priest of the Most Holy Redeemer Church, Derebail, Rev Fr Gratian Alvares, Residential Priest, Parish Pastoral Council along with Derebail Parishioners welcomed Most Rev Dr Peter Paul Saldanha, Bishop of Mangalore Diocese, Most Rev Dr Aloysius Paul Dsouza, former Bishop of Mangaluru Diocese and Most Rev Dr Francis Serrao, Bishop of Shimoga Diocese.


The Holy Eucharist Celebration began at 05:00 PM. Most Rev Dr Peter Paul Saldanha was the main celebrant. Altogether three Bishops and 14 Priests Celebrated the Holy Eucharist. Most Rev Dr Francis Serrao in his homily highlighted the significance and elaborated on the Celebrations of the day. He also defined the role of a priest and spoke on the mission that priest are bound to carry out. He added and explained the four blessed looks and concluded with poem on 'Beautiful hands of a Priest'. Later in the prayers of the faithful special intentions like prayer for the clergy, prayer for peace in our country and for those who died in the recent bomb blast in Sir Lanka were offered. Many offerings were brought by the parishioners. The Eucharistic Celebration was solemnized by a choir of about 100 parishioners.

Soon after the Holy Eucharist, refreshments were served to those who were present. Later the stage programme began by escorting all the guest from the ground entrance with the live band. As soon as the guests reached the dais, parishioners who were present for the programme lit candles and spent some time in remembering our brothers and sisters who perished in the bomb explosion in Sir Lanka. The prayer was led by Rev Fr Austin Peres and a two minutes of silence was observed.

Later Mr. Edward Coelho, Vice President of Parish Pastoral Council, welcomed each and every one gathered for the celebration. At first Rev Fr Austin Peter Peres was felicitated for completing his 25 years as a Priest. Secondly Rev Fr Gratian Alvares was felicitated for completing his 10 years as a Priest. Thirdly Mr. Victor Correa was felicitated for serving 25 years as the Editor of 'Derebailche Phul'.

Rev Dr Francis Serrao addressed the gathering and congratulated Fr Austin, Fr Gratian and Mr Victor Correa. Rev Dr Aloysius Paul Dsouza also addressed the gathering. Later Rev Fr Gratian while addressing the gathering thanked the almighty for His choicest blessings upon him. He also thanked the Bishop for supporting him in his mission as a Priest. He also said in his three years of service Fr Austin came across to him as a friend and a guide. He concluded by requesting the parishioners to always keep him in their daily prayers. Mr Victor Correa, Editor of ‘Derebailche Phul’ shared his 25 years of experience as an Editor. He thanked all those who supported him throughout his journey as an Editor.

Rev Dr Peter Saldanha distributed the prizes for the winners in the Writing Competition. Felicitation song composed by Mr Alwyn Dcunha was beautifully sung by the Quintuple Jubilee Choir members. Rev Fr Austin later in his speech remembered his parents and thanked them. He also thanked the Bishop and all the priests who came in his priestly life. Further thanked all the Derebail Parishioners for supporting him and requested to keep him in their prayers. Rev Dr Peter Paul in his speech said that Derebail Parishioners are always ahead in activities and congratulated Fr Austin, Fr Gratian and Mr Victor Correa.

Mrs Lizzie Fernandes, Secretary of Parish Pastoral Council delivered the Vote of Thanks. The entire programme was compered by Mr Sheldon Crasta and Mr Avinash Daniel Dsouza. The programme concluded with a fellowship meal and Baila.

More News

Little Rock ranked among the top 10 schools of India
Little Rock ranked among the top 10 schools of India
The Student Cabinet Inaugural for the academic year 2024-25 at St Agnes PU College
The Student Cabinet Inaugural for the academic year 2024-25 at St Agnes PU College
  Vanamahotsava was celebrated by ICYM Badyar unit
Vanamahotsava was celebrated by ICYM Badyar unit

Write your Comments

Disclaimer: Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that under 66A of the IT Act, sending offensive or menacing messages through electronic communication service and sending false messages to cheat, mislead or deceive people or to cause annoyance to them is punishable. It is obligatory on CANARANEWS to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using canaranews will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.