Wednesday 29th, May 2024
canara news

KCWA Cricket Cup 2019

Published On : 10 Mar 2019   |  Reported By : media release/ Pics by: Alban D’Souza & Alwyn Noronha

Kuwait Canara Welfare Association (KCWA) held Cricket Cup 2019 on Friday, 1st & 8th of March consecutively at Trinity, RCC, Casuals, and Agility grounds, Sulaibiya. The tournament was held for Men’s (Regular & Veterans) and for the first time Women’s 30 Yards Under Arm tournament. 11 Teams for (regulars), 3 Teams (veterans) and 5 Teams (women’s) participated in the tournament, which was held exclusively for KCWA members. Over 266 members took part in the event. Special thanks to Oswald, Mukkaram, Hussain and Dinesh for lending their grounds for the tournament.

All together 22 matches were played. In the final match held for Regulars, MFC-B team defeated Salmiya Friends-A team by 45 runs to lift the coveted trophy. KICC won the Veterans Trophy while Sharq United team was the Runners up. In the women’s final match Desert Roses defeated Lourdes by 21 runs to lift the winner’s trophy. The 3rd position was bagged by SWAK.

The tournament began by invoking Lords blessings led by Maria Rinna Dsouza & Walter Santhmayor. President Hilary Stevan Rego welcomed the teams and guests and declared the tournament open. Surinder Rana, Chandan Shukla and Samuel were the umpires. Leg Umpiring was supported by Alex Rego, Neville Dsouza, Ignatius Dsouza, Deepak Andrade, Anil Fernandes, Alban Dsouza, Lloyd Prashant, Vincent Dsilva, Joyston Dsouza and Orson Dsouza. Jinella Rodrigues, Walter Santhmayor, Prakash Pinto, Deepak Andrade, Orson Dsouza, Lloyd D’Souza, Harry Fernandes and Anil D’Mello were the scorers of the tournament. Online Live Scoring updates were done from the venue by Allan D’Souza, Alen Pinto, Shannu D’Souza and Arun Jossy D’Souza.

Best Bowler (regulars): Joyel Rodrigues (MFC-B) 6 wickets.

Best Batsman (regulars): Errel Jason Dsouza (MFC-B) 134 runs.

Man of the Match (regulars): Errel Jason Dsouza (MFC-B) 42 runs from 12 balls.

Women of the Match: Precilla Dsouza (Desert Roses) 25 runs from 10 balls & 1 wicket.

Man of the Match (veterans): Noel Lewis (KICC) 20 runs from 10 balls.

Dr. Manohar Prabhu handled the presentation ceremony. Sports secretary Hywel Pinto thanked all who helped in organizing the tournament. Anil Fernandes recited the concluding prayer. Sunitha D’Silva handled the membership counter at the venue and provided sound as well for the event. Upcoming Talented commentator Varun Dsouza was accompanied by Deepak Andrade, Naveen Mascarenhas & Dr. Manohar Prabhu for live commentary in (Hindi, Konkani, Kannada & English). Banner for presentation ceremony was designed and printed by Arun Jossy D’Souza. Alban D’Souza & Alwyn Noronha captured the event through their skills in photography. Alwyn Noronha provided excellent logistical support throughout the event. Michael Pinto arranged delicious breakfast, lunch & Canteen Facilities from M&M Confectionary. The dynamic media team headed by Allan Dsouza supported the entire tournament with special Live moments to be cherished on Facebook Live. KCWA Sports Committee coordinated the tournament with the support of KCWA Managing Committee members.

More News

27th Annual religious festival celebrated by Admaru Mutt Mumbai
27th Annual religious festival celebrated by Admaru Mutt Mumbai

Write your Comments

Disclaimer: Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that under 66A of the IT Act, sending offensive or menacing messages through electronic communication service and sending false messages to cheat, mislead or deceive people or to cause annoyance to them is punishable. It is obligatory on CANARANEWS to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using canaranews will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.