Sunday 25th, October 2020
canara news

Rashtriya Billawa Maha Mandala Team Won the Billawa International Cricket Trophy

Published On : 01 Mar 2016   |  Reported By : Rons Bantwal


Mumbai, Feb 28: “The decision of 3 people is always effective. There are lot of Billawa people in the undivided Dakshina Kannada District and they should take a lead to serve in economical, political, social and cultural fields and pay back to the society” –said Jaya Suvarna

The various associations of Billawa community that are providing their service throughout the world, conducted 2 days international cricket tournament at Vijaya College sports ground Mulky. Jaya Suvarna presided over the international cricket tournament ceremony and addressed the gathering.

Jayaram Banan – the President of Billawa Association Delhi gave trophy and shields to the winners and felicitated them. Navinchandra D. Suvarna – the President of All India Billawa Union, Sooru C. Karkera – Founder President of Billawa Jagruti Balaga Mumbai, N. T. Poojary – the President, Nithyananda D. Kotian – the President of Billawa Association Mumbai, Satish Poojary – the President of Billawas Dubai, Rajkumar – the President of Guru Seva Samiti Bahrain Billawa, S. K. Poojary – the President of Oman Billawas Muscat, Raghu Poojary of Billawa Association Kuwait, Dayanada Bontry – the President of Gujarat Billawa Association, M. Vedakumar – the President of Billawa Association Bangalore, Mohandas Hejamady – the General Manager of Bharat Bank, Santhosh Kumar – the President of Yuva Vahini Kendra Samiti Mangalore, Lohith Kumar- the President of Shri Narayana Guru Yuva Vedike Mangalore, Deepak Ermal of Billawa Parishad Udupi, Ravi Poojary Chilimbi – the President of Akhila Bharat Billawa Ekikarana Samiti Mangalore, L. V. Amin Mumbai were present on the dais. Jaya C. Suvarna, Sooru C. Karkera, andNavin D. Suvarna were honoured on this occasion.

“I feel proud to say that first time in the history of Billawa community a cricket competition with 16 teams was held. Here harmony, intimacy and brother-hood is important than competition. Relationship is strengthened by this kind of sports” –said Navin Chandra Suvarna.

“This is a memorable event for Billawas. This seems to have created unity amongst us. This is the right time for unifying Billawas youth power and lead the community” –said Sooru Karkera

Billawa Maha Mandala Mulky team won the first place and bagged the international cricket trophy -2016 with2 lakh cash prize and a certificate. Billawa Association Kuwait team won the second place with 1 lakh cash prize and a certificate. Arjun Poojary was the best bowler and all-rounder, Shailesh Suvarna was the best batsman and they were felicitated and honoured with certificates. On the occasion, Manohar Amin of Karnataka Cricket Association, Udayakumar Katapady of Cricket Academy, sports stars Kavitha R. Poojary, Chaitra B. Sanil, international sportsman Nithin Mulky were honoured. Shamina G. Alva – the head of the Vijaya College, Umpires Ronald Pinto, Ibrahim Udupi, Suleman Katapady, Rajesh Mulky, Aslam Karnad, Srinivasa R. Karkera, Nilesh Poojary Palimar – the sports organizers, Ganesh K. Poojary –the head of the seva dal and others were honoured.

Bipin Prasad, Surendra A. Poojary, Harish G. Amin, L. V. Amin – the convenors were present on the occasion. Shiva Narayana Aithal and Aravinda Manipal co-operated to deliver the commentary.

Vinay Kumar recited the prayer. Rajashekar R. Kotian Mudarangadi– the President of Billawa Sports Committee welcomed the gathering. M. Chandrashekara Suvarna delivered introductory speech. Narendra Kerekadu compered the programme. Vijayakumar – the chief secretary proposed the vote of thanks.


More News

 Kanara Cultural Association (Regd) New Delhi Celebrates Montifest
Kanara Cultural Association (Regd) New Delhi Celebrates Montifest
2nd Edition– The Critical Wound Care CampforPeople with Disabilities (PWD’s)
2nd Edition– The Critical Wound Care CampforPeople with Disabilities (PWD’s)
Model Co-op Bank Ltd., own IFSC Launch
Model Co-op Bank Ltd., own IFSC Launch

Write your Comments

Disclaimer: Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that under 66A of the IT Act, sending offensive or menacing messages through electronic communication service and sending false messages to cheat, mislead or deceive people or to cause annoyance to them is punishable. It is obligatory on CANARANEWS to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using canaranews will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.