Wednesday 4th, October 2023
canara news

Sena ahead of BJP in vote percentage

Published On : 26 Feb 2017   |  Reported By : Courtesy: The Hindu   |  Pic On: photo credit: The Hindu

Mumbai (The Hindu): BMC releases voting data from 20 of the 24 administrative wards that went to the polls

The Shiv Sena has won 30.41% of the total votes in comparison with the Bharatiya Janata Party’s 28.28%, according to data released by the Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation of the votes polled in 20 of its 24 administrative wards.

The numbers might slightly vary when data is released for the remaining 26 seats in Wards K-west (Andheri West), L (Kurla), D (Malbar Hill) and C (Mumbadevi). Out of the 26 seats, the BJP has won 12, the Sena 7, the Congress 4, the MNS 1 and Independents 2.

1.75% opt for NOTA

Of the total voting percentage, the Congress has mustered 16.69%, the Raj Thackeray-led Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) 8.52%, the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) 5.74% votes, the Samajwadi Party 4.87%, and independents 6.40%. The data show of the 41.50 lakh electorate, 72,897 voters or 1.75%, chose the NOTA option.

The numbers suggest that the Sena managed to retain its vote-share of 13.52 lakh from the 2014 Assembly polls. In the 2012 BMC polls, which the Sena contested in alliance with the BJP, it won 21.85% of the votes. The BJP’s vote-share then was 8.64%.

The data show that going it alone in the 2017 BMC polls has benefited the BJP more than the Sena, with its seat tally increasing from 31 to 82. In the 2014 Assembly polls, when the party fought against the Sena, it won 16.41 lakh votes. The BJP then wrested 15 seats in Mumbai, while the Sena won 14.

The biggest losers

The worst-hit in this year’s civic polls has been the Congress and the Maharashtra Navnirman Sena, who polled 21.23% and 20% of the total votes respectively in the 2012 BMC polls. Nitin Sardesai, former MLA of the MNS, said, “We accept that the people have not voted for us in this election, the reasons will be examined. We have delivered on our promises, yet we have been rejected. We will take the necessary steps.”

Meanwhile, leaders of the BJP said the party would comment on the numbers only after the final data is released. “We are confident that our vote-share will be more than that of the Sena’s. This will be clear once final numbers are out,” said a BJP leader.

More News

TV actress Nikita Sharma Love Song
TV actress Nikita Sharma Love Song "Ik Tara" out
Civic Reception accorded to President Murmu on first visit to Maharashtra
Civic Reception accorded to President Murmu on first visit to Maharashtra
Governor presides over 108th Foundation Day of SNDT Women's University
Governor presides over 108th Foundation Day of SNDT Women's University

Write your Comments

Disclaimer: Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that under 66A of the IT Act, sending offensive or menacing messages through electronic communication service and sending false messages to cheat, mislead or deceive people or to cause annoyance to them is punishable. It is obligatory on CANARANEWS to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using canaranews will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.