Sunday 19th, May 2024
canara news

Konkani Natak Sabha to celebrate platinum jubilee

Published On : 02 Dec 2018   |  Reported By : canaranews network

Mangaluru: Konkani Natak Sabha (KNS) was founded in the year 1943 by Fr George Albuquerque Pai, S J and nurtured by the strenuous efforts of Fr Philip Neri D’Souza, OFM, Capuchin with a singular objective of spreading human values and empowering Konkani language and culture through song, music, art, dance and drama. The motto of the Konkani Natak Sabha being ‘Natakdvarim Dharmik Sadhan’ (service through stage).

The year 2018 is a landmark in the history of Konkani Natak Sabha as it completes 75 years of fruitful and effective service to all the people of coastal Karnataka and worldwide, especially to Konkani lovers.

Konkani Natak Sabha has been a cradle for numerous talents such as dramatists, musicians, singers, actors, dancers, public speakers and so on for the past 75 years. It has dedicated itself to the cause of Konkani, drama and culture.

Those were the days when some church-based youth associations were active social with religious ideals. At Jeppu parish the Catholic Action League (CAL) members excelled in music, singing and stage performances. Fr George Albuquerque Pai, S J of St Aloysius College recognized the multi-talented youngsters and motivated them to get organized.

So on September 19, 1943 some enthusiastic youngsters from Jeppu, staged playwright M P D’Sa’s ‘Vighnant zo’it’ Konkani play and ‘Kazarachi Dotorn’ short comedy play at St Aloysius College Academy Hall. On the same day, the Konkani Natak Sabha was formed by Fr George Albuquerque Pai, S J. Though he was founder of Konkani Natak Sabha, due to some reasons he could not accept the responsibility as its founder president. So the superior of St Ann’s Friary, Bejai was given the responsibility and thus Fr Cyril Andrade, OFM (Cap), superior of the Capuchin Friary became the first president of KNS (1943-1946). Fr Cyril was succeeded by Fr Philip Neri D’Souza, OFM (Cap), who served Konkani Natak Sabha for two terms (1946-1960 and 1962-1974) amidst several hurdles and hardships.

Fr Paul Melwyn D’Souza, OFM (Cap) is the president of the executive committee of KNS for the period 2016-18. Other members of the executive committee are Sunil Menezes, vice-president, Judith D'Souza, general secretary, Jossy Theodore, assistant secretary and Gerald Concesso as the treasurer.

The members of the managing committee of KNS for 2016-18 are Jerome Moras, Alwyn D’Souza, Liston D’Souza, Gerald Towers, Joseph James Martis, Ronald Tauro, Gretta Rebello, Floyd D’Mello, Victor Menezes, Michael Monteiro, Linsha Lobo and Praveen Rodrigues.

Co-opted members of KNS are Avitas Adolphus Cutinha, Cyril G Sequeira, Felix D’Silva and Raymond D’Cunha.

More News

Bishop Francis Serrao SJ, Bishop of Diocese of Shimoga blessed Renovated Holy Family Church ar Chitradurga
Bishop Francis Serrao SJ, Bishop of Diocese of Shimoga blessed Renovated Holy Family Church ar Chitradurga

Write your Comments

Disclaimer: Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that under 66A of the IT Act, sending offensive or menacing messages through electronic communication service and sending false messages to cheat, mislead or deceive people or to cause annoyance to them is punishable. It is obligatory on CANARANEWS to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using canaranews will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.