Thursday 20th, June 2024
canara news

Lourdes Central School conducts annual Sports Day celebration

Published On : 17 Nov 2018   |  Reported By : canaranews network

Mangaluru: Lourdes Central School organised annual Sports Day for classes VI to XII at Mangala Stadium, M G Road.

The esteemed dignitaries on the occasion were the chief guest Clifford Joseph Joshua, assistant manager Corporation Bank, president of the function Fr Wilson Vitus D’Souza, manager, Lourdes Central School, principal Fr Robert D’Souza, vice principal Belita Mascarenhas, vice president of Bejai Parish Pastoral Parishad Stany Vas and secretary of Bejai Parish Pastoral Parishad Cony Saldanha escorted by the convenor Vishwanath Devadiga.

The inaugural programme began with the invocation of God’s blessings sung by the school choir under the guidance of Ivan Mascarenhas.

This was followed by the school parade headed by the head boy Aditya Desai, the head girl Eva Jessica D’Souza, the house captains and vice captains with their respective houses. It was indeed a treat to watch the students brimming with enthusiasm, march to the beat of the band. The school flag was ceremonially carried by the worthy sportsmen of the school who are members of the football team and cricket team – Adithya J P, Mihir Shetty, Atul Madhu and Anush Revankar for the flag raising ceremony. Clifford Joseph Joshua hoisted the flag.

On this joyous occasion, Belita Mascarenhas delivered the welcome address and introduced the guest. The arrival of the sports torch and the flame symbolises 'the light of spirit, knowledge and life'. The torch was borne by the athletes who emerged winners in various events – Advith Shetty, Captain of the cricket team, Girls handball team – Clea Juana, Shainil Crasta, Shivani Shetty, Frazel Fernandes, Mehek Aranha, Saanchi Suvarna; Amogh Shetty – national level skater, boys football team – Nihad, Tharun Hegde, Ruben Mascarenhas, Hasib, Abdul Aman, Sanjay Kulal, Ziyan Aboobaker, Jason Madtha; Vaishnavi K S and international karate champion and district level swimmer and Niranjan Rajeev, an international skating champion.

The chief guest received the torch and declared the sports meet open. The sports minister Anish Mathias, captain of the senior boys football team, state level badminton player and district level athlete led the oath and recited the pledge. The students displayed an impressive show of harmony and discipline through the mass drill. House system song was sung with vigour and gusto.

Clifford Joseph Joshua, an international athlete and Ekalavya awardee in his addressal to the gathering said, "Sports teaches one to deal with victory and failure, makes one strong and healthy and is an integral part of our life. Hard work is the key to success."

Fr Wilson Vitus D’Souza in his message expressed that success is a matter of choice. Failure should motivate one to try harder and harder. He stressed that a winning mindset is important and wished all the students win in all walks of life.

Veerendra Alva, PT instructor expressed his gratifying thoughts by proposing the vote of thanks.

Deepa D’Souza and Vanita Patole compered the inaugural programme. Vishwanath Devadiga and Veerendra Alva were the convenors of the annual Sports Day.

In the valedictory ceremony, Vivita D’Souza welcomed the gathering. Belita Mascarenhas, Vishwanath Devadiga and Veerendra Alva felicitated the winners of the relay and individual champions.

Individual champions are as follows:

Class VI girls’ category: Diya N Yashodar of Jade House
Class VI boys’ category: Deep Mascarenhas and Luquaaman of Jade House
Class VII and VIII girls’ category: Shrerya Arbi of Opal House
Class VII and VIII boys’ category: Samarth Manipur of Coral House
Class IX and X girls’ category: Nandini Shetty of Amber House
Class IX and X boys’ category: Anush Revankar of Opal House
Class XI and XII girls’ category: Pranitha Bangera of Amber House
Class XI and XII boys’ category: Ankush Shetty of Jade House

The vice principal awarded the rolling shield to Amber House and the runners up shield to Opal House.

Vishwanath Devadiga proposed the vote of thanks. Lowering of the school flag which marks the end of the closing ceremony was carried out ceremoniously in the presence of the vice principal. The programme ended with singing the National Anthem. Vivita D’Souza compered the valedictory programme.

More News

Catholic Sabha Valencia Unit celebrates 25 years
Catholic Sabha Valencia Unit celebrates 25 years
 The worldwide known annual feast of St Anthony Basilica , Dornahalli
The worldwide known annual feast of St Anthony Basilica , Dornahalli

Write your Comments

Disclaimer: Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that under 66A of the IT Act, sending offensive or menacing messages through electronic communication service and sending false messages to cheat, mislead or deceive people or to cause annoyance to them is punishable. It is obligatory on CANARANEWS to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using canaranews will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.