Thursday 26th, November 2020
canara news

Pharmacy Teachers Convention inaugurated

Published On : 17 Oct 2016   |  Reported By : Canaranews Network

Manipal: The 21st National Convention of Association of Pharmaceutical Teachers of India (APTI) was formally inaugurated at Manipal on 14 October 2016 in the evening. Dr Bhushan Patwardhan, eminent scientist, Interdisciplinary School of Health Sciences, Savitribai Phule Pune University was the Chief Guest. Dr H S Ballal (pro Chancellor, Manipal University), Dr C K Kokate (Vice Chancellor, KLE University, Belagavi), Dr A Ramkishan (Deputy Drug Controller, Central Drugs Standard Control Organisation), the members of the executive council of APTI, Dr N Udupa (Research Director, Manipal University) and Dr C Mallikarjuna Rao (Principal, MCOPS) were present on the dais during the inaugural function. APTI is also celebrating the Golden Jubilee of its formation.

Speaking on the occasion, Dr Patwardhan complimented the APTI for choosing Manipal as the venue for its convention. He opined that Manipal University with its vibrant, multi-cultural ambience is truly a world-class university. So by opting to hold its convention at Manipal, APTI has stuck to the theme of the convention- roadmap for quality pharmacy education and research. Dr Patwardhan talked about the challenges faced by pharmacy education, particularly the shortage of quality teachers. He added that interdisciplinary approach is essential for future drug discovery.

In his welcome address, Dr H S Ballal thanked APTI for holding the convention in Manipal. He requested the delegates to visit various institutions of Manipal campus and see for themselves the nature of the facilities offered by Manipal University. “You are our brand ambassadors,” Dr Ballal told the delegates.

The Guests of Honour, Dr Ramkishan and Dr CK Kokate also briefly addressed the gathering.

Distribution of prizes and awards is a significant and much-awaited part of the inaugural function. The awards are the recognition of the achievements of pharmacy teachers. Dr Dadasaheb Kokare received the Young Teacher Award, while Dr Milind Parle got the Pharmacy Teacher of the Year Award. Prof Shailendra Saraf of Pandit Ravishankar Shukla University (Raipur) bagged the Principal of the Year Award. The Manjushree Pal Award for the Best Pharmaceutical Scientist went to Dr Ramesh Panchagnula (Nektar Therapeutics). Prof Biswajeet Mukherjee (Jadavpur University) was the recipient of LVG Nargund and Dr Shishoo Award. Mr M S Harish (formerly of Govt College of Pharmacy, Bengaluru) was awarded for his outstanding contribution to APTI.

Teachers selected from the five zones of the country were felicitated for their Excellence in Teaching. The recipients are: Dr P N Murthy (East Zone), Prof P R Bharadwaj (North Zone), Prof T T Chopde (West Zone), Prof N D Karwekar (South Zone) and Prof V K Dikshit (Central Zone).

The Karnataka State branch of APTI also announced a slew of awards, including the best principal of the state. Dr Shabaraya of Sridevi College of Pharmacy was the awardee.

Many other awards were given away during the function including those for best paper in various subjects.

Dr C Mallikarjuna Rao proposed the vote of thanks to conclude the function. Dr Angel Alex was the MC for the formal function.

More News

Yuva Spandan Derebail (YSD/ICYM) Organised Fresher’s Party and Potluck 2020
Yuva Spandan Derebail (YSD/ICYM) Organised Fresher’s Party and Potluck 2020
The national webinar “The Limitless Arena of Research in Language” virtual campus held at St. Agnes College
The national webinar “The Limitless Arena of Research in Language” virtual campus held at St. Agnes College
“Financial Mantras for budding Leaders of tomorrow”
“Financial Mantras for budding Leaders of tomorrow”

Write your Comments

Disclaimer: Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that under 66A of the IT Act, sending offensive or menacing messages through electronic communication service and sending false messages to cheat, mislead or deceive people or to cause annoyance to them is punishable. It is obligatory on CANARANEWS to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using canaranews will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.