Saturday 2nd, December 2023
canara news

Ramalinga Reddy Transport Minister inaugurates JNNURM bus unit at Nittur, Udupi

Published On : 05 Nov 2016   |  Reported By : Richard D'Souza

Udupi: Standard and better public transport service will be provided with safe, this will be the Karnataka State Transport Department’s objectives, said Ramalinga Reddy Transport Minister of Karnataka State.

While speaking after the inauguration of JNNURM bus unit at Nittur, Udupi, he said that compared to other states of the country, Karnataka is the first state with highest number of state owned transport in the country. The transport department has received 137 awards so far and since Siddaramiah government we have received 70 awards in three years. The recruitment process is pending for 5846 posts and government planned to release 4360 buses in future.

He said the new bus unit in Nittur is built on 2.60 acres of land at a cost of Rs. 6 crore which includes management and supervision court, administrative department, staff accommodation, dinning Hall, toilet and parking for around 50 buses.
More JNNURM buses will be provided whenever necessary and 0.48 acres of land near service bus stand will be made available under the PPP model and KSRTC bus stand at Bannanje on 2.5 acres of land will be made available and will be constructed soon with well equipped bus stand., he said. Within one year the JNNURM bus stand will be constructed at Udupi City stand.
In his address Pramod Madhwaraj said that the past three chief ministers were not able to provide land to KSRTC from PWD, but due his hard struggle he succeeded to transfer the PWD land to KSRTC for well equipped Udupi KSRTC Bus stand at Bannanje. He requested the Transport Minister that there is a need to construct underpass from the city bus stand to JNNURM bus stand for people. There will be need to get more buses in the Udupi constituency rural areas where students will be benefitted more.

Earlier, after the State song, Vivekananda Hegde welcomed the gathering. Rajendra Kumar Kataria gave the key note address. M.A. Gaffoor, Narasimha Murthi, Nalini Pradeep Rao, Janardhan Thonse, Myrmadi sudhakar Hegde, Basavaraj, Kishan Hegde Kolkebail, T. K. Sudheer, Ramesh Shetty and others were present.


More News

 The Annual Day programme at St Agnes PU College
The Annual Day programme at St Agnes PU College
SMSSS Annual Day – 2023, Decennial Celebration of Streebandhu & Conferring of
SMSSS Annual Day – 2023, Decennial Celebration of Streebandhu & Conferring of "Chaitanyashri”
St Agnes PU College Champions: Scripting History
St Agnes PU College Champions: Scripting History

Write your Comments

Disclaimer: Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that under 66A of the IT Act, sending offensive or menacing messages through electronic communication service and sending false messages to cheat, mislead or deceive people or to cause annoyance to them is punishable. It is obligatory on CANARANEWS to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using canaranews will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.