Thursday 23rd, May 2019
canara news

Girija Lokesh conferred Dhwani Sriranga International Theatre award

Published On : 29 Jan 2018   |  Reported By : Rons Bantwal

Dubai: Cine and theatre artiste Girija Lokesh was presented with Dhwani Sriranga Ranga Prashasti at a colorful event organized at Emirates Theatre, Dubai on January 19. As a part of the celebration, “Swapna Vasavadatte”, play was staged. The original Sanskrit drama by Maha Kavi Bhasa is translated to Kannada by Prof. Keertinath Kurtukooti and directed by well-known Kannada stage director, Prakash Rao Payyar. Theatre was jam packed with enthusiast audience.

In her address after receiving the honor, Girija Lokesh expressed her happiness for being considered for prestigious award and thanked the team of Dhwani Pratishtana. She praised the NRI Kannadigas who came to gulf countries for their livelihood are serious of their mother tongue and taking part in true spirit in activities of Kannada with pleasure.

Famous art director Ganesh Rai was honored with Dhwani Puraskara International award. Ganesh Rai recalled his association with Dhwani Pratishtana and Founder Prakash Rao Payyar. He commended the commitment of Prakash Payyar in the fields of Kannada literature and theatre and he has inspired many. He thanked Dhwani Pratishtana for the honour bestowed on him and thanked his family for its never ending support for his social activities.

Both the awards are instituted by Dhwani Pratishtana. To honour those persons whose have contributed immensely in the fields of Dramatics and cultural contributions respectively.

Chairman of Merit Freight Shipping Joseph Mathias, Director of ACME Building Materials Harish Sherigar, MD of Spraytek Ramachandra Hegde, Founder of Dhwani Pratishtana Prakash Payyar, Padmaraj Yekkar, along with awardees Girija Lokesh and Ganesh Rai lit the traditional lamp and inaugurated the programme.

Drama on stage was presented by artistes Vidhushi Swapna Kiran, Prabhakar Kamath, Arati Adiga, Vasu Bayar, Shweta Sharma, Janet Sequeira, Ashok Anchan, Santosh Poojary, Gururaj Puttur, Shobita Premjit, Satish Hegde, Sandhya Ravi, Nagabushan Kashyap, Jesh Bayar, Jayant Shetty, Vinayak Hegde, Sandeep Devadiga, Deepa Maria, and backstage support was given by Arun Manipal, Udaya Nanjappa, Sai Mallika, Ashok Bailur and others.


More News

Mangalurean Vibhali Shetty won prestigious ‘Sharjah Award for Excellence in Education 2018-19’
Mangalurean Vibhali Shetty won prestigious ‘Sharjah Award for Excellence in Education 2018-19’
Kuwait: United Mangaloreans Kuwait (U.M.K) held Muhurath
Kuwait: United Mangaloreans Kuwait (U.M.K) held Muhurath
Scholarships to children of differently-abled
Scholarships to children of differently-abled

Write your Comments

Disclaimer: Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that under 66A of the IT Act, sending offensive or menacing messages through electronic communication service and sending false messages to cheat, mislead or deceive people or to cause annoyance to them is punishable. It is obligatory on CANARANEWS to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using canaranews will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.