Sunday 26th, June 2022
canara news

Indiabulls Home Loans Vasai Virar Mayor’s Marathon: Rashpal Singh of ASI, Pune winner

Published On : 12 Dec 2016   |  Reported By : Ronida Mumbai

Mumbai, 11th December, 2016: Rashpal Singh of ASI, Pune ran a scorching race in chilly early morning temperatures to win the men’s full marathon title, shattering Olympian Kheta Ram’s record, in the Indiabulls Home Loans Vasai Virar Mayor’s Marathon in Virar on Sunday.

Running a brave start-to-finish race, Rashpal clocked 2:22.04 to eclipse 28 seconds from Kehta’s course record of 2:22.32, set in 2015.

Rashpal’s feat was emulated by the winners of the men’s and women’s half marathon, who came home in record time to make it a grand hat-trick.

It was sweet revenge for Sanjivani Jadhav, who came home in 1:18.02 seonds, breaking Swathi Gadhave’s record of 1:18.35 seconds. Monika Athare, who had beaten Sanjivani in the Delhi half Marathon, had to settle for third place.

The men’s half marathon saw a tough contest between A B Baliappa and Srinu Bugatha, before the former pulled away to win in 1:05.33. Bugatha finished a second behind, while Damor Mohan came in third.

“I am very satisfied with my win, said Rashpal, pleased to have broken Kheta’s record. “The support from the people was great, the support from the spectators which added to the win came from people across all ages throughout the route. My next target is world championship, and I am sure I would be able to achieve it. I have maintained my pace from the beginning till the end for this race.”

Event Ambassador, Lalita Babar said, “It was an absolute honor being the ambassador of this marathon. Watching the crowd pumped up was a wonderful experience for me. I know how running changed my life, and I am delighted to see so many thousands of people take it up as passionately.”

The full marathon winner Raspal Singh went home richer by Rs 2:50 Lakhs, while Pankaj Dhaka took home Rs 1:25 Lakhs and Satyabhan received cash award of 75,000 respectively.

List of winners across categories is as given below:

Male – Full Marathon (42km): 1st position Raspal Singh (02:22:04), 2nd position Pankaj Dhaka (02:28:55), 3rd position Satyabhan (02:30:51)

Male – Half Marathon (21km): 1st position Baliappa AB (01:05:33), 2nd position Srinu Bugatha (01:05:34), 3rd position Damor Mohan (01:05:51)

Women – Half Marathon (21km): 1st position Sanjivani Jadhav (01:18:02), 2ndposition Saigeeta Naik (01:18:55), 3rd position Monika Athare (01:20:06)

More News

2621st Mahavir Janm Kalyanak celebrated at Raj Bhavan
2621st Mahavir Janm Kalyanak celebrated at Raj Bhavan
Federation of Hotel and Restaurant Associations Maharashtra Met Sharad Pawar
Federation of Hotel and Restaurant Associations Maharashtra Met Sharad Pawar
Governor Koshyari greets people on Christmas, New year
Governor Koshyari greets people on Christmas, New year

Write your Comments

Disclaimer: Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that under 66A of the IT Act, sending offensive or menacing messages through electronic communication service and sending false messages to cheat, mislead or deceive people or to cause annoyance to them is punishable. It is obligatory on CANARANEWS to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using canaranews will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.