Saturday 13th, July 2024
canara news

Congress-JDS retain both assembly seats

Published On : 06 Nov 2018

Bengaluru: It looks like people have given thumbs up to Congress-JDS government as they managed to win both the assembly seats. Congress' Anand Nyamagowda has made a successful electoral debut by defeating rival candidate Kulkarni Shrikanth Subrao of the BJP in Jamkhandi assembly seat by-election. Anand Nyamagowda secured 97013 votes while Srikanth Kulkarni of BJP garnered 57529 votes.

Meanwhile JD(S)'s Anitha Kumaraswamy has won the by-poll battle with record number of votes by defeating BJP's L Chandrashekhar in Ramanagara assembly seat. Anitha Kumaraswamy polled 1,25,043 votes while Chandrashekhar (BJP) polled 15,906 votes.

L Chandrashekar, the BJP’s candidate for the Ramanagara by-election, had backed out last week just two days ahead of voting on Saturday, saying he was ignored by BJP leaders who did not turn up for campaigning as promised. Chandrashekar had switched over to the Bharathiya Janata Party only last month after Congress’ decision to allow its alliance partner Janata Dal (Secular) to contest the seat.


Write your Comments